Advisory Councils

The Department maintains advisory councils representing its specialization areas.  These councils are comprised of industry leaders in tourism management, recreation and park management, youth development, parks and conservation, community development, and event planning and management.  The advisory boards are pivotal in helping us… 

  • ensure that we are teaching “cutting-edge” curricula that optimally meets the needs of our students and the industries we serve
  • secure professional opportunities and quality internships for our students,
  • understand evolving continuing education needs of professionals
  • understand evolving needs of industry for research
  • connect with giving opportunities for donors

Community Development

Cecilia Giusti, Associate Dean for Outreach and Diversity, Landscape Architecture & Urban Planning, Texas A&M University

Debbie Eller, Community Development Program Manager, City of College Station Texas

Alsie Bond, Community Development Department Manager, City of Bryan, Texas

Jose Quintana, President Advent GX, Bryan, Texas

Danielle Harris, Assistant Dean for Student Success, College of Agricultural Sciences, Texas A&M University

Faculty members are: Dr. David Matarrita (Coordator), Dr. John Thomas, Dr. Tazim Jamal, Dr. Alex McIntosh, Dr. David Ruesink and Dr. Amanda Stronza.

Community Recreation and Park Administration

Mr. Tony Cisneros, College Station, TX

Dr. Chris Nunes, Director of Parks and Recreation,  The Woodlands

Mr. Jay Daniel, Houston Parks and Recreation Department

Mr. Larry Pressler, College Station, TX

Mr. Joe Turner, City of Houston, TX

Mr. Warren Bird, City of Garland, TX

Faculty members are: Dr. Scott Shafer (Coordinator), Dr. David Scott, Dr. Jamie Rae Walker, and Dr. Gary Ellis

Parks and Conservation

Mary Bomar, Director, National Park Service (ret.)

Dean Bibles, State Director, Bureau of Land Management (ret.)

Tim Bradle, Supervisor, Water Surface Operations Programs, Lower Colorado River Authority

Kevin Cheri, Superintendent, Buffalo National River, Arkansas

Deborah Cowman, Director, Brazos Valley Museum

Stacey Dicke, Director, New Braunfels Parks and Recreation Dept.

Russell Fishbeck, Deputy Director State Parks Division, Texas Parks and Wildlife Department

Jamie Hackett, Superintendent, Bastrop/Buescher state park complex

Greg Henington, Owner, Far Flung Outdoor Center, Terlingua

Pamela Scaggs, Lead interpreter and volunteer coordinator, Washington-on-the-Brazos State Park

Faculty members are: Dr. Jim Gramann (Coordinator), Dr. Ron Kaiser, Dr. Gerard Kyle, Dr. Mike Schuett, Mrs. Susan Scott, Dr. Amanda Stronza, Mr. Jim Miculka, and Dr. Lavell Merritt

Professional Event Manager Certificate Program

Dr. Gregg Bennett, Professor, Health and Kinesiology

Ms. Merrill Bonarrigo, Co-founder of Messina Hof Winery & Resort

Mr. Doug Burns, Manager: Hospitality & Event Services for the University Center Complex

Mr. Marc Chaloupka, Director of the Annenerg Presidential Conference Center

Mr. Bill McKinley, Director of Benz School of Floral Design & Senior Lecturer, Horticulture

Dr. Tracy Rutherford, Assistant Professor, Agriculture Education

Ms. Becky Wade, Marketing & Development for MSC OPAS

Faculty members are: Mrs. Debe Shafer (Coordinator), Dr. Gary Ellis, Dr. Jinmoo Heo, Melyssa-Anne Stricklin (staff)

Tourism Management

Paul Serf, Former TTIA President

Robert Starnes, Entrepreneur

Carson Watt, Former RPTS Extension

Travis Wuest, Natural Bridge Caverns

Hunter Goodwin, Oldham Goodwin Properties

Shannon Overby, B/CS CVB

Faculty members are: Jim Petrick (Coordinator), Amanda Stronza, Tazim Jamal, Kyle Woosnam and Miles Phillips

Youth Development

Dr. Chris Boleman, Program Director, Texas 4-H Youth Development

Ms. Liana Lowey, Executive Director, Voices for Children CASA of Brazos Valley

Mr. Kurt Podeszwa, Camp Director, Camp for All

Mr. Ron Rowlett, President Boys & Girls Club of Brazos Valley

Faculty members are: Dr. Brandy Kelly-Pryor(Coordinator), Dr. Chris Harris, Dr. Jill Martz, and Dr. Corliss Outley.


Comments are closed.