Terry Hershey Award for Excellence

For Outstanding Contributions to the Field of Recreation, Parks, or Tourism by a Practitioner, Board Member, Elected Official or Volunteer
Named after Terry Hershey, the first award recipient,

Terry Hershey

Terry Hershey is a Texas lightning rod for parks and the cause of conservation. Her list of achievements is not only extensive, but also extraordinary. Beyond her commitment to funding student scholarships in support of those studying for a professional career in parks and conservation, she has provided many other kinds of support including resources for faculty and staff to attend meetings to improve their knowledge and skills, meetings these people would be unable to attend without her consideration. She attends our get-togethers at the national NRPA meetings, usually with the largest smile, and makes sure the department and students are engaged in the important conservation activities she is so strongly committed to. We benefit because of what she does for the Texas environment, but even more important, because she is our friend.


Recipients1994 Terry Hershey
1995 Bob Frazer
1996 Jack Ashworth
1997 Andy Sansom
1998 Tag Taggert
1999 Glenda Barrett
2000 Don Clark
2001 JoAnn Andera
2002 Beverly Griffith
2003 No Award
2004 Jesus Oliveras
2005 No Award
2006 Donna Brasher
2007 Robert Stanton
2008 George Bristol
Last Update: May 15, 2008

Comments are closed.